Tattoo Laws In Virginia: What You Must Know
In the Commonwealth of Virginia, there are laws that govern tattooing, just like there are laws that cover barbering, cosmetology, nail care, waxing, body-piercing, or esthetics.
Is it illegal to tattoo without a license?
Is it illegal to tattoo yourself?
Can 15-year-olds get tattoos?
The tattoo laws in Virginia are pretty straightforward, and we answer most questions about the legality of giving and receiving tattoos in this blog post.
New Jersey Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
N.J. Stat. Ann. §26-1A-7 defines the states sanitary code.
N.J.A.C. 8:27-1 et seq. Establishes sterilization, sanitation, and safety standards for the tattoo industry in order to protect the publics health.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in New Jersey, please visit the website of New Jersey Department of Health.
Do I Need To Sign A Tattoo Apprentice Contract
The contract is important so everyone knows exactly what they’re agreeing to. Especially if you’re paying, you’ll want to sign a contract up front so both you and your mentor know exactly what is expected. It should spell out how long the apprenticeship will last, what it will cost, what your responsibilities entail, and exactly what skills you’ll be learning. If you’ll be expected to work there after earning your license, this should be described in the contract, as well.
At first, your apprenticeship will consist mostly of menial tasks like cleaning, answering phones, and running errands.
You May Like: Can You Remove Color Tattoos
New York Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
N.Y. Public Health Law §460-466 Establishes regulations for the Body Piercing and Tattooing industry.
N.Y. Public Health Law § 460A N.Y. Penal Law § 260.21 makes it unlawful to tattoo the body of a child under the age of 18 years. Violation is a class B misdemeanor.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in New York, please visit the website of New York State Department of Health.
Delaware Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
Tattooing and Body Piercing in Delaware is governed by Del. Code Ann. tit. 16, §122 and Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1114 Delaware Code Annotated which establishes the standards for sanitary operation of tattoo parlors as well as body piercing establishments. A tattoo parlor is understood to be either a person or a business that creates permanent marks on human skin by puncturing the skin and inserting an indelible color or by producing scarring.
Delaware law makes it illegal to tattoo or pierce a minor both knowingly or not, unless an express written consent of the adult parent or legal guardian is given prior to the procedure.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Delaware, please visit the website of Division of Public Health Delaware Health and Social Services.
Read Also: How To Get Inkbox Tattoo Off
General Guidelines For A Tattoo Artist In Montana
Specific requirements to perform tattoo artist services can generally be used as a guideline, but with body art services, many of the licensing regulations are determined by local. Tattoo artists, microblading and other permanent cosmetic services become public health and safety concerns, which can be regulated by both the state and county. For example, some states may have a Safe Body Art Act to maintain standards, but then each county has different fees and qualifications to prove training and experience.
How To Renew A Tattoo Artist License:
To renew a tattoo artist license please submit the following to the local county health department where you reside.
- Completed Application for Tattoo Artist License be sure to check “Renewal” at the top of the application.
- The Application must be completed with the name of the licensed tattoo establishment where the tattoo artist will perform tattooing or intends to perform tattooing.
Recommended Reading: How Much For Tattoo Removal Cost
Louisiana Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
Louisiana Revised Statute Commercial Body Art requires every facility that offers services including tattooing, body-piercing, or other Commercial Body Art services must obtain a permit in accordance with these regulations. Persons performing the services mentioned must also be registered with the state.
Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor makes it illegal for any person to tattoo or to pierce a minor under the age of 18 years unless consent is given by the parent or legal custodian of the minor who must also be accompanied to and supervised during the procedure.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Louisiana, please visit the website of Louisiana Department of Health .
How To Get Your Tattoo License In California
Tattoo artists and other body art practitioners in California are regulated by the state’s Safe Body Art Act. This state law was enacted in 2012 to protect both clients and practitioners in the body art industry from the transmission of infectious diseases through the use of needles. If you want to become a professional tattoo artist in California, you must register with the department of health in the county where you plan to work. Your license must be renewed every year. Training in control of bloodborne pathogens exposure also must be completed every year.
You May Like: How Soon Can You Remove A Tattoo
Wyoming Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
According to Wyoming Statute §14-3-107 Tattooing or body-piercing of persons who have not reached the age of majority the practice of body piercing, branding scarification, sculpting or tattooing is prohibited from being performed on any person has not reached the age of majority, except when a parent or a legal guardian is present during the procedure and has given consent. The law mandates that the persons age must be verified with appropriate form of identification.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Wyoming, please visit the website of Wyoming Department of Health.
What Will You Do During Your Apprenticeship
First, in addition to those menial tasks, you will work with your mentor to learn professional business skills, hygienic work practices, and tattoo design. But first, you will do a lot of watching and listening. This is the first step to learning, so stay attentive. You will learn how to make needles, use the autoclave, and take health precautions .
After that, you will start learning to use the tattoo machine . At first, you will tattoo on fake skin, fruit, and maybe even yourself, depending on your teacher. You will learn about all the different set-ups for the machines and the difference between liners and shaders. Meanwhile, you will also be drawing and learning how to draw quickly and well. It’s a LOT of hard work.
Also Check: What Soap Should I Use To Clean My Tattoo
Will I Be Tattooing During My Apprenticeship
You will do around 100 free tattoos during your apprenticeship. But in fact, “free tattoos” means that you pay the cost, so make sure to have a lot of money saved up for supplies. You can tattoo friends, family, whomever you wish. You get to keep your tips. After your’e certified, you can start charging clients.
General Body Art Program Information:
The Illinois Department of Public Health regulates all establishments that perform body art procedures such as tattooing, permanent makeup including Microblading, piercing, etc. These procedures DO NOT fall under the license of cosmetology or esthetics and therefore shall not be done but under the required body art establishment registration as a body artist. These body art services shall be completely separate from services that fall under those other licenses to meet Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulations requirements.
IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO TEACH Microblading or Micropigmentation:You shall also contact the ILLINOIS Board of Higher Education to obtain the information about their requirements you must comply with. This is under the private business school and vocational section.Phone: 217.782.2551Email:
If you plan to have other services that do not fall under the Illinois Department of Public Health, Body Art Program, such as eyelash extensions, eyebrow threading, micro-needling or tattoo laser removal, you may need to contact the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional regulations. Phone: 217-785-0820Website:
You May Like: How To Remove Tattoo With Laser
How Do I Become A Tattoo Artist What Steps Do I Take
Each of these steps is described in detail below, including answers to all the most frequently asked questions about the process.
Steps to Becoming a Tattoo Artist
The first thing you need to do is practice your art and build a diverse portfolio.
Does It Matter Where I Get My Apprenticeship
Of course, some shops and mentors are better than others. Ideally, you’ll want to surround yourself with great artists and healthy scenes, but I’ve heard plenty of apprenticeship horror stories. There are definitely some bad eggs out there. Getting a lousy mentor probably won’t kill you, but it will certainly slow you down, so choose carefully.
North Carolina Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
N.C. Gen. Stat. §130A-283 states that tattooing without first obtaining a tattooing permit from the Department of Health and Human Services is illegal. Licensed physicians and their assistants are exempt if the act of tattooing is done as part of their professional practice.
N.C. Gen. Stat. §14-400 prohibits tattooing and body piercing of minors.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in North Carolina , please visit the website of NC Department of Health and Human Services .
Wisconsin Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
Wis. Stat. §463.10 Regulation of Tattooists and Tattooing Establishments. Department of Health Services shall provide uniform, statewide licensing and regulation of tattooists and uniform, statewide licensing and regulation of tattoo establishments and perform inspections.
Wis. Stat. §948.70 prohibits tattooing of a minor under 18 with the exception of physicians performing usual medical duties relating to their professional practice.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Wisconsin , please visit the website of Wisconsin Department of Health Services.
Don’t Miss: American Tattoo Society Jacksonville Nc
What To Look For In A Tattoo Mentor:
Ideally, you want to learn from someone who actually wants to teach, who’s mentored before, who has a good educational background, and who will challenge you. This person will be responsible for helping you learn the basics and some of their own tricks for tattooing, so you want the best.
Persistence is absolutely key in this process. If possible, get tattooed by the artist you want to learn from. Even better, get tattooed as much as possible . Hang out in the shop if they’ll let you. Ask the artists you meet how they learned, who taught them, what advice they have. You might even volunteer your time to help build a relationship with the artists there.
Sedating Patients For Non Dental Related Procedures
It has recently been brought to the Board’s attention that some dentists may be numbing a patient in the dental office and then allowing the patient to leave the office numb so s/he can go to a tattoo artist for permanent makeup applications. In part, the practice of dentistry is defined as the administration of an anesthetic in connection with dental services or dental operations or dental surgery. The practice of dentistry does not provide for the administration of an anesthetic for non-dental related procedures. If a complaint is filed with the Board and the dentist is found to be administering an anesthetic to allow for the patient to have a non-dental related procedure performed, such as the application of permanent makeup, this is cause for the Board to pursue disciplinary action against the licensee.
Read Also: Good Tattoo Shops In Austin
Idaho Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
Tattoo means one or more of the following but does not include any mark or design done for a medical purpose: An indelible mark made on the body of another person by the insertion of a pigment under the skin or An indelible design made on the body of another person by production of scars other than by branding.
No person shall knowingly tattoo, brand or perform body piercing on a minor under the age of 14. Also makes it illegal to tattoo, brand or body pierce anyone between the ages of 14 and 18 without the written informed consent of the minors parent or legal guardian. Ear piercing and any piercing done for medical reasons are not subject to this legislation.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Idaho, please visit the website of Idaho Department of Health and Welfare.
Missouri Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
Mo. Rev. Stat. §324.520 to 324.526 license issued by the director of the division of professional registration needed to practice tattooing, body piercing or branding or to operate an establishment in which tattoos, body piercing or brandings are performed.
Mo. Rev. Stat. §324.520 it is illegal to knowingly tattoo or pierce a body of a minor without prior written, informed consent of the minors parent or legal guardian.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Missouri, please visit the website of Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services.
Recommended Reading: Laser Tattoo Removal Tyler Tx
New Hampshire Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 314-A:1 tp 314-A:13 makes practicing body piercing, branding, or tattooing without a license illegal. License and regulation of body art practitioners or tattooing facilities is required.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in New Hampshire , please visit the website of New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services.
The Medusa Philtrum Piercing Guide: Everything You Want To Know
Bottom line: You should not be tattooing unless you have been trained by a licensed professionaland if you have, it’s nothing to brag about.
Also Check: Best Thermal Copier For Tattoos
Mississippi Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
Miss. Code Ann. §73-61-1 et seq. makes it illegal for anybody to perform tattooing or body piercing upon any person for compensation with the state without possessing a current and valid Certificate of Registration issued by the Department of Health.
Tattooing or piercing of a minor under age 18 is prohibited. Violation is a misdemeanor and carries a maximum fine of $500.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Mississippi, please visit the website of Mississippi State Department of Health.
How Should I Approach A Shop To Ask For An Apprenticeship
- Just like with any other job, you need to know who you’re dealing with, so do your homework first. Study the shop’s website, look at the artists’ bios, and look at their work and reviews.
- Don’t go on a weekend, and go at a time when the shop isn’t too busy.
- Show up in person. Face-to-face is the smartest and most direct approach.
- Talk to the person at the front desk and ask what the best approach is. Treat everyone you meet with equal respect. Remember that the person you’re talking to is probably either a potential mentor or an apprentice like you want to be, so they all have something to teach you.
- Bring your portfolio. If necessary, you might leave it there for a couple of days to give them a chance to really look at it.
Don’t Miss: How To Get Rid Of A Finger Tattoo
General Guidelines For A Tattoo Artist In Georgia
Specific requirements to perform tattoo artist services can generally be used as a guideline, but with body art services, many of the licensing regulations are determined by local laws. Tattoo artists, microblading and other permanent cosmetic services become public health and safety concerns, which can be regulated by both the state and county. For example, some states may have a Safe Body Art Act to maintain standards, but then each county has different fees and qualifications to prove training and experience.
Texas Tattoo Laws Legislation And Regulations
Texas Health and Safety Code, Title 2 Health, Subtitle G Licenses and Other Regulation, Chapter 146 Tattoo and Certain Body Piercing Studios prohibits a person from operating a tattoo studio without a license issued by the Texas Department of State Health Services. It also prohibits tattooing of a minor. An exception requires consent of a parent or guardian if he or she believes that allowing the minor to get a tattoo in order to cover an existing obscene or offensive tattoo is in the best interest of the minor.
To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Texas, please visit the website of Texas Department of State Health Services.
Don’t Miss: Tattoo Removal Surgery Before And After